upcoming….

I’d like to consider myself in a near perfect geographical location for music access.  Downtown Dallas:  not too far from excellent Denton venue’s (Hailey’s and Rubber Gloves) and already within a close proximity of some of my favorites (The Granada and The Loft).  I can’t forget to mention the greatness of local record store Good Records either.  So, rather than just update my blog with a bunch of random songs, I want to keep you all posted on upcoming shows that I will be going to and new album releases I can’t wait to get my mitts on.  Keep your eye out for “upcoming….” on a monthly basis.

Shows

viviangirls

So the Vivian Girls aren’t even the headlining act, but they are definitely of more relevenace to me than Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti.  Although Pink’s new song “Can’t Hear My Eyes” is good (probably the only APHG I really want to listen to) I’ve just never been much of a fan.  Vivian Girls will continue their journey through Denton this Saturday 4/11 at Hailey’s and you can get yr tickets here for only $10 and a “convenience” fee.

Vivian Girls – Where Do You Run To

============

crystcast

Crystal Castles!  I would add five of six more !, but I’ll spare your ears.  Probably one of my most anticipated shows of the entire year and it’s all happening in about a week.  Surprisingly, tickets haven’t sold out but I’m sure that will change, so make your move!  Fellow Mean Green act Vega (Ghosthustler anyone?) will be opening.  The Granada doors will open @ 8:00 p.m. on 4/14.

Crystal Castles – Courtship Dating

============

bloody

After Kevin Shield’s “meltdown” catalyzed the disbanding of My Bloody Valentine, creators of the masterpiece Loveless, no one could have predicted their announcement to reunite for a set of tour dates or that they were on their way to recording new materials.  Finally, their tour bus will be arriving in Dallas.  Tickets aren’t cheap ($40), but an opportunity like this might not be around until the next time Halley’s Comet can be observed.  MBV will be playing at the Palladium Ballroom on 4/22.

My Bloody Valentine – Only Shallow

With all these shows I’m attending, I will be posting my own commentaries and photos (interviews would be great, so please feel free to set me up with some press credentials!) to give an accurate perspective.  Keep checking back for the updates!

============

Releases

Three April releases that I can’t wait for….

japandroids

Japandroids are a two piece garage/punk group of Canadians that play heavy, fast, and like they are way more than just two people.  Songs from their latest album can be heard here and vinyl can be purchased through InsoundPost Nothing will be available on 4/28 through Unfamiliar Records.

============

telepathe1

Yet another two piece, but nothing like the last guys I talked about, Telepathe lay down eerie electronic beats and are very similar to certain Italians Do It Better artists i.e. Glass Candy.  Just fyi, Telepathe will be coming through Denton on 6/22 at Hailey’s.  New LP Dance Mother will be available 4/14 on IAMSOUND

============

cryptacize

The Bay Area is recently becoming notorious for presenting us with lo-fi 60’s psych/pop rock: see WOODSIST Records.  From the Oakland end of things comes Cryptacize (check link for latest tracks), not quite as reverb rich as their Bay Area buddies but just as addictive.  Mythomania will be available 4/21 on Asthmatic Kitty.

0 Responses to “upcoming….”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow Us

Contact Us

Send all of your questions/comments/concerns to: weeklytapedeck@gmail.com

In My Headphones



Likeable Links

The Hype Machine

Roll Call

Admin/Writer - Nate S
Contributions/Photography - Nic V
Artiste Magnifique - Jennifer M

