vivian girls live @ hailey’s 4/11/09

vivian girls - haileys

Ended up getting a later start to the show than I wanted, but got to the doors the second the Vivs began to set up.  I’ll go ahead and set the record straight.  You, first, should notice that Nic is listed as the photographer for the WTD.  Second, this is not his work.  Unfortunately, Nic couldn’t make it out and, instead of using his sweet DSLR cam, I had to take these shots with that camera Ashton Kutcher uses in that lame ass commercial.  There’s always next time (Crystal Castles!).  As a matter of fact, I’m only going to put up one picture (I think you’ll understand).  Crappy picture quality aside, the Vivian Girls were amazing.  Hailey’s wasn’t too packed, and the crowd couldn’t help but get into it.  I’ve got to give it to Ariel Pink, too, for one upping my expectations.  Like I’ve said before, not a big fan of his work but “I get it”. Ariel Rosenberg even called the Vivs on stage for some back up singing in “I Can’t Hear My Eyes” and a couple of other songs.  I even hit up the merch booth and picked up a copy of Almost Ready Record’s The World’s Lousy With Ideas vol. 8.  Great compilation, but I’ll get to that later.  As for our first show’s entry, what we lacked in cameras we made up for in having a great time and a shot.  CC this Tuesday, we’ll see how things progress.

============

in other words:

almostreadyAt the show I copped this excellent 12″ mix from Almost Ready Records:  The World Is Lousy With Ideas vol. 8. Check out a couple of tracks by the Vivian Girls and The Intelligence (remember the A-Frames?) on their myspace page.  Limited to only 2,500 pressings, get it while it’s still good.  Don’t have any audio files, but check out the links for some of the artist’s material. Complete track listing:

Side A

1) Vivian Girls – Lake House

2) Blank Dogs – Ages Ago

3) Times New Viking – A Lot of Paintings

4) Intelligence – The Beetles

5) Guinea Worms – Soiled Sender

Side “R”

1) Sic Alps – Strepix

2) Thee Oh Sees – Schwag Rifles

3) Tyvek – Flowers

4) Pink Reason – Going Home

0 Responses to “vivian girls live @ hailey’s 4/11/09”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow Us

Contact Us

Send all of your questions/comments/concerns to: weeklytapedeck@gmail.com

In My Headphones



Likeable Links

The Hype Machine

Roll Call

Admin/Writer - Nate S
Contributions/Photography - Nic V
Artiste Magnifique - Jennifer M

